

## **S.I.W.S.**

N.R. SWAMY COLLEGE OF COMMERCE & ECONOMICS AND SMT. THIRUMALAI COLLEGE OF SCIENCE 337, Major R. Parameswaran Marg, Sewri-Wadala Estate, Wadala, Mumbai – 400031.

## PLANNING FORUM

## Events conducted during the year 2017-18:

- A talk on Goods and Services Tax (GST)
- What's the Economic Word?
- Elocution Competition
- A.D. Shroff Memorial Elocution Competition

The Planning Forum **organised a talk on Goods and Services Tax (GST)** by CA. Hrishikesh A. Wandrekar. Mr. Wandrekar gave an introduction of the Indian tax system and explained the rational for the adoption of GST. Being a teacher himself, he explained every concept in a very simple and lucid manner.

Almost hundred students attended the same. Students took keen interest and raised several queries related to tax regime transformation for further clarification.

The Planning Forum organized 'What's the Economic Word?' competition on Friday 18<sup>th</sup> August, 2017, the main objective being to assess students' knowledge about basic economic concepts. Following students were the winners of the competition:

1<sup>st</sup> Prize - Rohit. Y. Shetty (T.Y.B. Com)

2<sup>nd</sup> Prize- Laxman. Thevar (S.Y.B. Com) and Namrata Mishra (T.Y.B. Com) 3<sup>rd</sup> Prize - Prinshila Stephen Harnali (S.Y.B. Com)

An **Elocution competition** was organized on Thursday 8<sup>th</sup> September, 2017 where the participants could speak for five minutes on any one of the following topics:

- A. Digitalization- The Way Forward
- B. Importance of Infrastructure in Economic Development
- C. Ethics in Business and Industry
- D. Role of Youth in Building a New India

Following students were adjudged as the winners of the competition. 1<sup>st</sup> Prize – Ms. Vandana Nishad (F.Y.B. Com) 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize- Ms. Ramya Shetty (T.Y.B. Com)

A.D. Shroff Memorial Elocution Competition was held on 7th October, 2017.

Following students were adjudged winners of the competition:

1<sup>st</sup> Prize - Ms. Vandana Nishad (F.Y.B.Com) 2<sup>nd</sup> Prize- Ms. Ramya Shetty (T.Y.B.Com) 3<sup>rd</sup> Prize- Mr. Nimesh Dhakan (S.Y.BMS)

Dr Sanghamitra Mishra CHAIRPERSON



Dr Usha Iyer

Dr Usha Iyer PRINCIPAL

PRINCIPAL S.I.W.S. N.R. Swamy College of Commerce & Economics and Smt. Thirumalai College of Science, Wadala, Mumbai - 400 031